University of Florida

North Central Florida Tree List

The North Central Florida region includes the following counties: Gadsen, Leon, Wakulla, Jefferson, Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwanee, Lafayette, Dixie, Columbia, Union, Bradford, Gilchrist, Alachua and Levy, which include USDA Hardiness Zone 8B. Trees growing in our Gainesville plot that are also capable of growing in this region are listed below. Not all trees in this list will grow in all areas in North Central Florida. This is not meant to be a complete list of small trees that are capable of growing in this region. Click on Urban Tree Selection in the contents to select more trees for this region.

Some trees on this list are too large for planting near power lines. Check details of each tree before planting near wires.

Click here for more small trees possibly suited for planting near power lines.